Tags

, , , ,

So I attempted this recipe last night for some healthy chocolate chunk muffins. While they definitely look delicious, I would rate them as a so-so. I have no idea why they look nothing like the original ones, but they are definitely a bit flat-topped.

A few things. First, I don’t believe in baking with Splenda¬†and other fake sugar things. While I do love a diet coke and other sugar-free things once in a while, I really believe that real sugar in moderation is way healthier than feeding your body chemicals. Again, I’m a little bit of a hypocrite in this way, but I never ever bake with splenda. SO my version has legit sugar in it.

Second, I would say these muffins don’t have a ton of flavor. I only sprinkled some dark chocolate chips on the top, and they’d probably be better if I had mixed some in. However, the batter is SO thin I thought they might sink to the bottom and sort of defeat the purpose.

All this to say, they aren’t terrible. Just don’t expect chocolate heaven! Also, I made twelve normal sized muffins out of this recipe, which means that each muffin is about 190 calories and 5 grams of fat. So that isn’t AWESOME by any means, but still a lot better than buying a muffin at the store or Panera or something like that. They also have about 5 grams of protein each (thank you, greek yogurt) and 5 grams of fiber.

So basically, they aren’t the prettiest and they aren’t the tastiest or healthiest. But you can’t win them all!

