Tags

, , , ,

It’s funny – we know this story soooooo well from our childhood. But recently, my small group decided to re-examine bible stories from our childhood through an adult eye. You know, actually READ the stories in the bible and see how we interpret them now. I volunteered to lead the discussion on Noah a couple weeks ago, and thought I might share with you a few facts and takeaways that I never noticed before.

Fact 1: God was pissed.

When we are 5 years old, learning about Noah by drawing rainbows and animals, no one ever really dwells on the fact that this story begins with God being really, and I mean REALLY, pissed. Read this:

The Lord saw how great the wickedness of the human race had become on the earth, and that every inclination of the thoughts of the human heart was only evil all the time. The Lord regretted that he had made human beings on earth, and his heart was deeply troubled. So the Lord said, ‘I will wipe from the face of the earth the human race I have created — and with them the animals, the birds and the creatures that move along the ground – for I regret that I have made them.’ But Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord. – Genesis 6:5-8

God REGRETTED that he had made human beings. Ouch. Frankly, I had never considered regret as an emotion God might have from time to time. Isn’t He perfect? And if he is perfect, wouldn’t He avoid things that He would regret later? Yes, He is perfect…but we are not. And we manage to prove this, day in and day out, in our thoughts, actions, and words.

Fact 2: Noah was not perfect.

When you wrap your mind around the fact that Noah, his wife, three sons, and their wives are the only people God saves, you think to yourself, “Hmmm…if Noah was so great and perfect, then how could he have been 100% human?” But the truth of it is that Noah was NOT perfect. In Gensis 9:20-21, the bible even sites a time when Noah got drunk and was laying around naked in public (well, sort of public). It’s true – Noah messed up sometimes, but he truly loved God with every bit of his heart, and was not influenced by others. He preached to people who laughed at him, and lived his life as an example for his entire generation. How often can we say that we truly lead by example with a heart full of love for the Lord?

Fact 3: God will never, ever send a flood to kill us again. Promise.

God loved Noah fiercely. He told Noah to build an ark, and Noah trusted Him. God was the one to bring all those thousands of animals to the boat. God was the one to wash away everything that remained. Noah trusted God, and God provided for Him. That trust saved Noah. And when the flood was over and the earth was dried, God promised:

Never again will I curse the ground because of humans, even though  every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done. As long as the earth endures, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease. – Genesis 8:21-22

Have faith. God will provide to those who trust in Him and live a life with a faithful heart.

Wait, one more thing! The rainbow, of course. God promises that the rainbow will always be a reminder of His promise to Noah and to us that never again will He destroy the creatures of the earth.

And God said, ‘This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.’ – Genesis 9: 12-16

{photo from Wiki}

