Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

For the first time in 20 years, it’s the first day of school, and I am not invited.

I know that for the majority of our young lives, we complain about the first day of school.  Dread it, even.  And I always dreaded my dad’s yearly “first day of school picture” (sorry to break your heart, dad).  And I can hardly believe it’s been four years since my first day of college–and eight since the beginning of high school!  But I’ve always really loved school.  I love learning things that I’m interested in (key words: interested in), socializing with other students, being involved in all the activities school has to offer, and the overall act of creating goals and accomplishing them.  Being in school has always provided me with endless opportunities to grow, express, and challenge myself.

I hope that I will eventually find a job that accomplishes these same things.  It might take me going back for my master’s (which could be an awesome opportunity) and I know it will definitely take time, but I am confident that I can find the same fulfillment through other jobs and activities.  But for now, it’s just a matter of adjusting.

And for all of my friends out there, beginning their senior year (or junior, I guess) I have to encourage enjoying a cold brew with your roomates and suitemates after your first day.  It’s a great way to start off what is going to be a GREAT year!

